What Is Your Mommy Like?


I saw this video on facebook. For those who don’t feel like looking into it, here’s the general idea: They asked several moms to describe their own opinion of themselves as mothers. Most mentioned things they wish they were better at, and the recurring theme was that these moms want to be more patient, to be more calm with their kids, to be more understanding. Then they bring the women back a few days later to watch videos of their children describing their moms. The kids all say wonderful things about their moms, and go on about how great they are, which makes the moms feel so good that some even cry. I’ll admit, I felt just a little choked up myself. The point is that moms judge themselves much more harshly than their kids, and that we should give ourselves a break. It was a little reminiscent of the Dove video showing the difference in how a stranger views you vs. your own perception.

This made me wonder what kinds of things my own kids would say, particularly Dash, since Ozzie can’t speak. Bear and I were sitting in the living room, and I asked Dash to sit down for a moment.

“What do you think about me? How would you describe Mommy?”

“Um, a girl.”

Okay, maybe he doesn’t understand the question. I tried to adjust it a bit.

“What makes you love Mommy? What kind of stuff do I do?”

He looked around for a second, then said, “You play with me, and I love you.” Awww. “And you make me take naps and you tell me to sit down.” Hm. This isn’t quite the tear-jerker it was in the video.

I tried again, “Well, how do you describe your mom? What’s mommy like?”

He looked at me blankly, and I wondered if it’s just not possible to do this without a middle man. Maybe his 3 year old mind can’t fathom having to describe me to me.

“Okay. Um, buddy, what’s Daddy like?”

Without a hesitation, he blurts, “Daddy likes girls! He likes girls who love him.”

We all busted up laughing at the misunderstanding, and I turned to Bear. “Daddy likes girlssss? I asked, emphasis on the plural. He shrugged. I like to give him a hard time, but I was obviously not concerned.

“He’s right. I love girls. But only the ones who love me.” I stuck my tongue out at him.

Dash chimed in, “Yeah, that’s my mom!”

 

This isn’t the first time Dash has busted Daddy, but that’s a story for another post!

 

Leave a Reply

